2nd June- Telangana Formation Day

  • Telangana Formation Day is celebrated every year on June 2 in the state.
  • This day is being observed since 2014, when the state was formed via the Telangana Bill passed in the Lok Sabha as well as the Rajya Sabha.
  • The Congress Working Committee (CWC) passed a resolution that recommended the formation of a new state separate from Andhra Pradesh on July 1, 2013.
  • The bill for the formation of Telangana state was tabled in the Parliament in February 2014, the same month when the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act was passed by the then Government of India.
  • It was finally on June 02,2014 that the state of Telangana was formed via the Telangana State Bill.
  • The new state corresponds to the Telugu-speaking portions of the erstwhile princely state of Hyderabad.
  • KalvakuntlaChandrashekar Rao was elected as the first chief minister of Telangana, following elections in which the Telangana RashtraSamithi party secured a majority.
  • Telangana Formation Day symbolises the day when the state of Telangana was officially separated from Andhra Pradesh. This day celebrates the success of the Telangana Movement that led to the birth of a new state.
  • On this day, the state Chief Minister hoists the national flag. After that, a ceremonial parade is held at the parade grounds in Telangana.
  • It is an official state holiday and celebrations are held in all 33 districts of the state spanning a period of 4 days.
  • Telangana State Awards for exemplary contribution in different fields are presented at different events.