14th September – Hindi Diwas

Hindi Diwas

Hindi Diwas is celebrated every year on 14 September. The day marks the declaration of the Hindi language as the official language of the Union government of India.
Hindi was adopted as the official language on 14 September 1949.

Hindi Diwas is celebrated, to commemorate the adoption of Hindi in the Devanagari script as one of the official languages in different Hindi speaking states of India.

During the freedom struggle itself, the demand for a common language for a nation kept arising. The leaders of different provinces considered Hindi capable of becoming the contact language of the country.

On 6 December 1946, the Constituent Assembly was formed to prepare the constitution of independent India.

Apart from various rules and regulations in the constitution, the issue of the official language of the new nation was also important. Because there were hundreds of languages and thousands of dialects in India. After much deliberation, Hindi and English were chosen as the official languages of the new nation.


Hindi was adopted as one of the two official languages of the Republic of India by the Constituent Assembly of India. This was done due to the efforts of Beohar Rajendra Simha along with Hazari Prasad Dwivedi, Kaka Kalelkar, Maithili Sharan Gupt and Seth Govind Das.

On the 50th birthday of Beohar Rajendra Simha on the 14th of September 1949, the efforts resulted in the adoption of Hindi as an official language.

This decision was ratified by the Constitution of India that came into effect on the 26th of January 1950.
Under Article 343 of the Indian Constitution, Hindi written in Devanagari script was adopted as one of the official languages. In all, there are 22 Scheduled languages of India.

Later the Jawaharlal Nehru government, seeing the importance of this historic day, decided to celebrate 14 September every year as Hindi Diwas.
The first official Hindi Day was celebrated on 14 September 1953.

Read More
Panmunjom Declaration